Music Posts Galore in The Weeklings, George Clinton Interview, Book Reviews

Hello one and all,

I’ve been writing a lot this cold, snowbound February, covering topics as varied as the Beatles, crying, disco, and politics. I’ve also been writing more memoir, but I can’t post it because I’m submitting it to publications and that’s a no-no when you’re sending stuff around.

Also, it was my great honor to interview funk pioneer George Clinton onstage at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock. Clinton was in town to promote his new memoir, Brothers Be, Yo Like George, Ain’t That Funkin’ Kind Of Hard On You?. His folks got in touch with great Woodstock indie bookstore the Golden Notebook, asking for help, and proprietor and my dear friend Jackie Kellachan asked if I’d like to interview George and moderate a Q & A with a live audience. I said YES. Here’s a version documented on Lawrence Hultberg’s smartphone.

P-Funk Maestro George Clinton Interview from Lawrence Hultberg on Vimeo.

brothas-be-yo-like-george-aint-that-funkin-on-9781476751078_hr

For a dee-luxe, edited, three-camera shoot of the event by James Orr, click HERE.

Here are some links to my pieces for The Weeklings:

TAKE A SAD SONG AND MAKE IT BETTER

jc


IN DEFENSE OF DISCO

snf

CONFESSIONS OF A CRYBABY

baby-crying-450

And here’s my combo review of NY Senator Kirsten Gillabrand’s memoir and Zephyr Teachout’s history of political corruption in America:

OFF THE SIDELINES & CORRUPTION IN AMERICA

imgres

4 responses to “Music Posts Galore in The Weeklings, George Clinton Interview, Book Reviews

  1. Hi Robert,

    Thanks for sharing your writing. I found myself grinning as I read your defense of disco. I also loved the era and the music. I grew up in Tony Manera’s neighborhood, walked those same streets, and even bought my pegged pants at Sid’s, where Tony shopped. I had relatives who lived in houses just like the Maneras, and dinnertime could sometimes get a little testy. I never would have imagined what was going on down in Atlanta at the time.

    Thanks for the memories, and thanks for a lift during this brutal winter.

    Nick

    >

  2. The pleasure is mine, Disco Nick!
    Thanks for the kind words. Before long it’ll be time to talk gardens again!
    best – RBW

  3. Great Saturday Night Fever memoir Robert. I was teaching High School at the time – kids your age – and I confess it was they that turned me on to disco with that LP although I was already a Bee Gees fan. My best friend at art school was already moving towards early Grace Jones too. Funnily enough the ones I ended up liking the most were Boney M, the Jamacians that took off in Germany. We watched the “Magic of Boney M” a few months ago on Netflix and I could really see where Michael Jackson was influenced by them. They even have a song which I swear must have been the influence for “We Are The World” if not a direct rip-off. Not sure how big they were in the States but they were a great slice of that great genre.
    Many thanks.
    Cheers
    Tom

  4. Thanks, Tom! Must check out Boney M. And I’m glad to know your pupils were not disco haters. Hope for the world. And anyway, disco never died, much to the haters’ chagrin/ Disco Party on High Street!

Leave a Reply

