January Roundup, featuring Elvis, Lo Fi, and Sneak Peek at my novel “Perfectly Broken”

Hello all!

Hope the first 1/12th of your 2015 was fun. Here in the Catskills, it’s been characteristically cold and snowy, with the usual constant commentary about same, which reminds me, once again, how storytelling is innate in everyone, and I mean everyone.

In addition to  publishing several items this month, I licensed the Uncle Rock tune “It’s Hot (Don’t Touch It!)” to 2015 film People, Places, Things, which stars Jemaine Clement from Flight of the Conchords. Here’s a teaser:

 
I recorded “It’s Hot (Don’t Touch It!)” in my bedroom/home studio with a cheap microphone and a Mac and a then-seven-year-old Jack on background vocals. I sent nine tunes to the music supervisor, most of which I’d recorded in pro studios for substantial sums. But this one had something those others didn’t. I think I realize what it was/is.
 

As for writing, here are links to several pieces I delivered this month.

Originally published in The Weeklings, Salon picked up and re-ran my piece on Elvis, in honor of his 80th birthday. I watched the ’68 Comeback Special again, and, as ever, it blew me away. Click here.

Elvis_stage

Both the ’68 Comeback Special and the licensing of “It’s Hot! (Don’t Touch It!)” got me thinking about “lo fi.” My favorite aspects of the Elvis special and of that song are that they’re raw, and therein lies the magic. I wrote about that for The Weeklings in a piece called Lo Fi Luv.

outside

My novel Perfectly Broken is still bouncing around editors’ desks, but the venerable Akashic Books published a snippet from one chapter on their site, as part of their weekly “Terrible Twosdays” flash fiction series. It’s from a chapter entitled “The Junkie Incident.” Read it HERE

Lastly, I’ve put up some memoir writing on temporary site Notes From the New Wave Queer Underground. 

More to come in February. Thanks for reading and all the enthusiastic and supportive comments. Much appreciated.

sound as ever – RBW

2 responses to “January Roundup, featuring Elvis, Lo Fi, and Sneak Peek at my novel “Perfectly Broken”

  1. Congratulations Robert … that’s excellent. And with Jermaine Clemente in it we definitely will try to seek it out. Congratulations to back-up singer Jack too.

    Also looking forward to “What We Do In The Shadows” –

    http://www.npr.org/2015/02/08/384322018/what-do-we-do-in-the-shadows-dishes-mostly

    Just got a good review in “The New Yorker” of all places.

    Looking forward to your memoir. Cheers Tom

Leave a Reply

